At the edge…

10299199556_d81a08df6b_oHi folks, this weeks reflection comes out of a conversation I had this last week. Last Sunday saw the first of our litter picks for sunday@thepub. While we were walking and picking up litter, even though it wasn’t to bad we still managed to pick up a fair bit. It struck me and others that the litter was mainly and visibly seen at the edges. The edge of the sea as it lapped on to the shore and then up at the top as it was caught by the fence or bushes.

And so I have been thinking about the ‘edge’. It’s a term I hear a lot, and its a term I hear in many different circles. You may have heard some of them…

‘edge of society’,

‘edge of the church’,

‘edge of the universe’,

‘edge of reason’,

‘don’t stand too close to the edge’

‘lose her edge’

‘Take the edge off’

That kid is taking it right to the edge!’

‘a competitive edge’

‘edge of extinction’

‘At the cutting edge’

‘at the water’s edge’

What is interesting about some of these phrases is whats wrapped up in them, it’s almost a negative and risky image that is being portrayed. So back to the litter pick, with the litter being pushed to the edges it made me think about my own Christian life and that of the church. So much of the history of the Methodist Church was steeped in the tough places, – the edge, where all the litter and the rubbish was blown. Its been great to be involved in things like Street Pastors that try to care and help those who are vulnerable after a night out – it’s the edge. Litter picking isn’t dangerous unless you start finding glass and other such things, but it is the edge. it’s not glamorous, and most folks avoid getting involved. As a result of Sundays litter pick I found myself walking to a meeting on Monday… and I picked up some litter as I walked… I could have filled a bag with rubbish if I had brought one… the litter pick spilled over…

I wonder if ‘part’ of being a follower of Jesus… no in fact I want to say that ‘being’ a follower of Jesus means getting to the edge… Amongst the rubbish and problems and being a presence, picking up the litter, mopping up sick, fighting for the homeless, standing with the poor.

What does the edge look like for you?

Are we all asked to get involved in the work at the edge?

How can you follow Jesus to the edge?

This week we are meeting again at 7.00pm to pick up some more litter and we shall concentrate on Cullercoats bay. so we will meet at the ramp again… once again we will be at the crescent club afterwards from about 8.00pm if you can’t join us for the litter pick.

God bless. Rob

 

2 comments

  1. Is the edge in human terms between safety and danger e.g. the land and the sea? or a cliff and a fall?. Or could it be between one state and another e.g could dying be an edge between this life and the next .Makes you think is faith an edge… is love ?

Leave a comment